AP CM’s Cup Basketball (Men & Women) Tournament

With a view to assess the performance standards to give exposure to improve standards and to identify the talent at University Level the Sports Authority  Government of AP has launched CM’s Cup Basketball (Men & Women) Tournament at university level duly involving all the universities in Andhra Pradesh. As a part of this competition, the AP interuniversity Basketball tournament for Men & Women was allotted to Dr.N.T.R University of Health Sciences and the university has given the opportunity to organize the tournament from 03.01.2019 to 05.01.2019 to our Institution.

In men section 12 universities and in women section 8 universities have taken part in the Tournament.

The formal inauguration was held on 03.01.2019 evening and Dr.C V Rao-Vice Chancellor-Dr.NTRUHS, Dr.C.Nageswara Rao-Director General, Dr.PSN Murthy- Principal, and Dr.B N Chander-Medical Superintendent of our institute formally inaugurated the event.

The tournament was conducted on league cum Knock out basis. In men section, 27 matches and women section 20 matches were played under flood light facility. Matches were officiated by B.F.I officials under the guidance of Secretary Sports board, Dr.NTRUHS and Sri K Rajendra Prasad -Senior SAI Basketball coach (rtd).

Following are the final results


1st Place -Adikavi Nannayya University, Rajahmundry

2nd Place-Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur

3rd Place-Krishna University, Machilipatnam

4th Place-Andhra University, Visakhapatnam


1st Place -Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur

2nd Place-J.N.T.University, Kakinada

3rd Place-Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupathi

4th Place-Adikavi Nannayya University, Rajahmundry

On the evening of 05.01.2019 the finals were conducted and the teams were introduced to the chief guests, who graced the prize distribution function.

  1. Appala Naidu-Registrar, Dr.NTRUHS
  2. C.Nageswara Rao-Director General, Dr.PSIMS & RF
  3. P Ankamma Chowdary, Chairman SAAP-Chief Guest
  4. PSN Murthy- Principal, Dr.PSIMS & RF
  5. B N Chander-Medical Superintendent, Dr.PSIMS

After completion of final matches the trophies, individual medals and prizes, certificates were awarded to 1st four places by Chief Guest Dr.P. Ankamma Chowdary.

The college administration thanks Dr.NTR University of Health Sciences for giving an opportunity to host the tournament at our college premises and Siddhartha Academy of General and Technical Education for giving Moral and Financial support to make this tournament a grand success.